Loading Events

« All Events

Youth Reading Circle: Sarah, Plain & Tall (Book Discussion)

July 24 @ 10:00 am - 11:30 am CDT

Enjoy the Newberry Award winning novel by Patricia MacLachlan, then discuss it with your friends!  The book will be read aloud by the group leaders on the event date and followed by discussion.

Registration: July 10 (two weeks before event) at www.norfolkartscenter.org

Pick up your copy of the book at Norfolk Public Library July 17 (one week before event)

Book discussion on July 24 at 10:00 a.m.

Film screening on July 24 at 4 a.m.

Synopsis: Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna’s point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa’s advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay? This children’s literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Details

Date:
July 24
Time:
10:00 am - 11:30 am CDT
Series:
Event Category:

Venue

Norfolk Arts Center
North 5th Street
Norfolk, NE 68701 United States
+ Google Map
Phone
(402) 371-7199
View Venue Website