Humanities Nebraska is served by dedicated volunteers on two boards: the Nebraska Humanities Council and the Nebraska Foundation for the Humanities. Board members are selected statewide from nominees who show a strong interest in the humanities and the cultural life of Nebraska, with special emphasis on community leaders from the state’s diverse geographic, occupational and ethnic constituencies. Humanities Nebraska seeks a balance between scholarly involvement in the humanities and other professional, business or community endeavors.

Council and Foundation members agree to attend three board meetings a year, serve on several subcommittees, assist in private fundraising, make a financial contribution to HN, promote public awareness of HN and its objectives, and attend and evaluate programs funded by Humanities Nebraska.

Among the programs that HN presents are the Chautauqua, Speakers Bureau, Capitol Forum on America’s Future, Prime Time Family Reading Time, Museum on Main Street exhibitions, and the Governor’s Lecture in the Humanities.

The boards meet three times a year, typically in January, April, and September.

For more information, contact Humanities Nebraska at 215 Centennial Mall South, Suite 330, Lincoln, NE 68508; call (402) 474-2131 ext. 102; fax (402) 474-4852 or e-mail

Humanities Nebraska Council

Connie Duncan Photo
Connie Duncan, Lincoln, Chair
Beth Whited Photo
Beth Whited, Omaha, Vice Chair
Mike Linder Photo
Mike Linder, Omaha, Treasurer
Amy Sandeen Photo
Amy Sandeen, Hastings, Immediate Past Chair
Don Arp Jr Photo
Don Arp, Jr., Lincoln
Graciela Caneiro Livingston Photo
Graciela Caneiro-Livingston, Lincoln
Laura Capp Photo
Laura Capp, Ashland
Steve Elliot Photo
Steve Elliott, Wayne
Cecil Hicks, Omaha
Edgar Hicks Photo
Edgar Hicks, Omaha
Jeannette Jones, Lincoln
Lynette Krieger Photo
Lynette Krieger, Hastings
David Nesheim Photo
David Nesheim, Chadron
Sarah Rowe Photo
Sarah Rowe, Omaha
Barb Schlothauer Photo
Barb Schlothauer, Gering
Paulette Stefka Photo
Paulette Stefka, North Platte
David Vail, Kearney
Dori Wanitschke Photo
Dori Wanitschke, Grand Island
Jaclyn M Wilson Photo
Jaclyn M. Wilson, Lakeside

Nebraska Foundation For the Humanities

Tami Hellman Photo
Tami Hellman, Kearney, President
Brenda Christensen Photo
Brenda Christensen, Omaha, Vice President
Mike Homa Photo
Mike Homa, Omaha, Treasurer
Don Arp Jr Photo
Don Arp, Jr., Lincoln
Keith Bystrom, Plattsmouth
Connie Duncan Photo
Connie Duncan, Lincoln
Judy K Ekeler Photo
Judy K. Ekeler, Fremont
Joel Falk, Omaha
Julia Gale Photo
Julia Gale, Lincoln
Linda Graff Photo
Linda Graff, McCook
Karen Higgins, Grand Island
Mike Homa Photo
Mike Homa, Omaha
Beverly Kracher Photo
Beverly Kracher, Omaha
Lynette Krieger Photo
Lynette Krieger, Hastings
Renee McClymont, Norfolk
Andy Pollock, Pleasant Dale
Thompson H. Rogers, Omaha
Paulette Stefka Photo

Paulette Stefka, North Platte

Laura Troshynski Photo
Laura Troshynski, North Platte
Jen Rae Wang Photo
Jen Rae Wang, Omaha
Chris Zygielbaum Photo
Chris Zygielbaum, Lincoln

Board Nominations Due October 11, 2021

Nominate someone you know (or yourself) to serve on our Council Board of Directors. Use our online nomination form or download a fillable/printable PDF to mail.