Board of Directors

Humanities Nebraska is served by dedicated volunteers on two boards: the Nebraska Humanities Council and the Nebraska Foundation for the Humanities. Board members are selected statewide from nominees who show a strong interest in the humanities and the cultural life of Nebraska, with special emphasis on community leaders from the state’s diverse geographic, occupational and ethnic constituencies. Humanities Nebraska seeks a balance between scholarly involvement in the humanities and other professional, business or community endeavors.

Council and Foundation members agree to attend three board meetings a year, serve on several subcommittees, assist in private fundraising, make a financial contribution to HN, promote public awareness of HN and its objectives, and attend and evaluate programs funded by Humanities Nebraska.

Among the programs that HN supports are the Chautauqua, Speakers Bureau, Capitol Forum on America’s Future, Prime Time Family Reading Time, Nebraska Conversations, Museum on Main Street exhibitions, and the Governor’s Lecture in the Humanities.

The boards meet three times a year, typically in January, April, and September.

For more information, contact Humanities Nebraska at 215 Centennial Mall South, Suite 330, Lincoln, NE 68508; call (402) 474-2131 ext. 102; fax (402) 474-4852 or e-mail

Nebraska Humanities Council

  • BD Adams, Connie

    Connie Adams, Broken Bow

  • Don Photo

    Don Arp, Jr.

  • Benjamin-Alvarado

    Jonathan Benjamin-Alvarado, Omaha

  • David Buntain

    David Buntain, Blair

  • Laura Capp Photo

    Laura Capp, Ashland

  • Connie picture

    Connie Duncan, Lincoln

  • Steve Elliott Photo 2

    Steve Elliott, Wayne

  • Mark E. Photo

    Mark Ellis, Kearney

  • Hal Photo

    Hal France, Omaha

  • BD Gendler Carol

    Carol Gendler, Omaha

  • Barbara

    Barbara Hewins-Maroney, Omaha

  • Mike L. Photo

    Mike Linder, Omaha

  • MaryLopez

    Mary Lopez, Omaha

  • Andrea Photo

    Andrea Miller, Bayard

  • David Nesheim (Photo by Daniel Binkard/Chadron State College)

    David Nesheim, Chadron

  • Amy Sandeen Photo

    Amy Sandeen, Hastings

  • Schleicher portrait

    John Schleicher, Omaha, Vice Chair

  • Paulette Photo

    Paulette Stefka, North Platte

  • BD Walter, Kay

    Katherine Walter, Lincoln, Chair

Nebraska Foundation for the Humanities


    Nick Baxter, Omaha, Treasurer

  • David Buntain

    David Buntain, Blair, Past-President

  • Kay Fowles Photo Color

    Kay Fowles, Grand Island

  • Hal Photo

    Hal France, Omaha

  • BD Gendler Carol

    Carol Gendler, Omaha

  • Shannon Photo

    Shannon R. Harner, Lincoln

  • Jessica J Photo

    Jessica L. Janssen, Fremont

  • Bev Kracher Photo

    Beverly Kracher, Omaha

  • BD Lang, Catherine

    Catherine Lang, Omaha, President

  • Lierk Color Portrait

    Ellen Lierk, Alliance

  • MaryLopez

    Mary Lopez, Omaha

  • Milligan portrait

    Cynthia Milligan, Lincoln, Vice President

  • Matt Schaefer

    Matt Schaefer, Lincoln

  • Liana Photo

    Liana Steele, Grand Island

  • glenn-van-velson-photo

    Glenn Van Velson, North Platte

  • Walter, Kay

    Katherine Walter, Lincoln

  • Kent Warneke

    Kent Warneke, Norfolk

  • Whited_Portrait

    Beth Whited, Omaha

  • Pete Photo

    Peter W. Zandbergen, Omaha

  • chris-zygielbaum-photo

    Chris Zygielbaum, Lincoln



Cultural Endowment seeks new executive director

The Nebraska Cultural Endowment is a 501(c)(3) corporation that was created to rai