

2024 Sower Award Nomination Form

Humanities Nebraska presents the Sower Award in the Humanities annually to honor an individual who has made a significant contribution to the public understanding of the humanities in Nebraska. This contribution can be made through any combination of time, expertise, or resources. The selection committee will consider how nominees have helped enrich the lives of Nebraskans through the humanities: history, literature, culture, philosophy, and all the ways we explore what it means to be human.

The 2024 Sower Award in the Humanities will be presented immediately prior to the Governor's Lecture in the Humanities in Lincoln <u>The award recipient must agree in advance to attend the event.</u> As in recent years, <u>only individuals are eligible for nomination</u>. Current board and staff members of Humanities Nebraska are not eligible.

Previous honorees have included:

- Talented humanities faculty who have taken the humanities to the public beyond their classroom;
- Committed volunteers dedicating their time and energy to enhancing the cultural life of Nebraska;
- Thoughtful journalists and filmmakers bringing the humanities to bear on important public issues;
- Generous philanthropists who have directed significant financial support to humanities-related programs and projects accessible by Nebraskans

Past Sower Award Recipients:

Individuals: Marian Andersen, Robert Audi, Keith Blackledge, Marion Marsh Brown, Gene Bunge, Jack Campbell, State Sen. LaVon Crosby, Nancy Duncan, Walter Friedlander, Judi gaiashkibos, John Gottschalk, Richard Holland, Jane Renner Hood, Ron Hull, Ted Kooser, Frederick Luebke, Robert Manley, Jack McBride, Gary Moulton, Natalie Hahn, Ron Naugle, Robert Nefsky, Paul Olson, Don Pederson, Rhonda Seacrest, Joe Seger, Todd Simon, Bernice Slote, Annette and Paul Smith, Pamela Hilton Snow, Joe Starita, E.N. "Jack" Thompson, Charles "Chuck" Trimble, Morrie Tuttle, Don Welch, Larry Wewel, and John R. Wunder.

Institutions: Beatrice Public Library, Commercial Federal Savings and Loan, Cooper Foundation, El Museo Latino, Holdrege Public Library, InterNorth Foundation, Peter Kiewit Foundation, Nebraska Educational Telecommunications, Nebraska Federation of Women's Clubs, the *Omaha World Herald*, Septemberfest Committee of Omaha, Stuhr Museum of the Prairie Pioneer, Willa Cather Pioneer Memorial and Education Foundation, and the Woods Charitable Fund.

<u>Communities</u>: Aurora, Central City, Chadron, Cozad, David City, Gering, Henderson, Oakland, Scottsbluff, Seward, and Verdigre.

NOMINATOR, PLEASE FILL OUT AND SUBMIT THIS FORM BY JUNE 14. THANK YOU!

Name of Nominee	
Address	_ Phone
City, State, Zip	
Name of Person Making Nomination	
Name of Person Making Nomination	
-	Phone

PLEASE RESPOND TO THE FOLLOWING QUESTION:

1) How has the nominee inspired and enriched personal and public life in Nebraska through the humanities? Consider these four areas:

- · Strengthening or advancing humanities scholarship:
- · Philanthropic support of humanities programs:
- · Volunteering time and talent in support of the humanities:
- · Advocating for the value of the humanities to society:
- · Other?

You may use another sheet of paper, but please limit your comments to 250 words.

2) Please limit any supporting materials—newspaper articles, letters, etc., to 5 pages or less.

Thank you for your nomination!

Please mail this nomination form and supporting materials to: Humanities Nebraska, 215 Centennial Mall South, Suite 330, Lincoln, NE 68508.

Postmark Deadline for Nominations is June 14, 2024.

