Sower Award in the Humanities

Todd Simon

Humanities Nebraska presented the annual Sower Award in the Humanities to Omaha philanthropist Todd Simon at the Governor’s Lecture in the Humanities on October 3, 2017 at the Holland Performing Arts Center in Omaha.

A fifth-generation owner of the Omaha Steaks® group of companies, Mr. Simon has been extremely involved in shaping his company’s and his family’s leadership in supporting the arts as well as social and human services agencies and programs. Nominated by 2015 Sower Award recipients Annette and Paul Smith, Simon was hailed by many in the community for his hands-on contributions to many local cultural and arts organizations.

In addition to working as Senior Vice President of Omaha Steaks International, Inc., President of OS SalesCo, Inc. and Vice-Chairman of, Inc., Mr. Simon currently serves on the boards of a number of non-profit organizations including the Omaha Comm-unity Foundation, the Bemis Center for Contemporary Arts and United States Artists. He is also a member of the Executive Board of the Nebraska Chapter of the Young Presidents Organization. Previously, he served on the boards of Jewish Family Service and R.E.S.P.E.C.T.2 as well as the Nebraska Cultural Endowment advisory board.


Previous Sower Award Recipients


Paul Olson • Joe Seger •  Keith Blackledge • Bernice Slote • Gene Bunge • Larry Wewel • Robert Audi • Walter Friedlander • Robert Manley • Frederick Luebke • Rhonda Seacrest • Jack McBride • Marion Marsh Brown • Morrie Tuttle • Nancy Duncan • State Sen. LaVon Crosby • Ron Hull • Jack Campbell • E.N. “Jack” Thompson •  Ron Naugle •  Don Welch • Gary Moulton • Ted Kooser • Charles “Chuck” Trimble • Richard Holland • Don Pederson • John Gottschalk • Judi gaiashkibos • Jane Renner Hood • Robert Nefsky • Annette and Paul Smith • Marian Andersen



InterNorth Foundation •  Septemberfest Committee of Omaha • Holdrege Public Library • Woods Charitable Fund • Willa Cather Pioneer Memorial and Education Foundation • Cooper Foundation • Commercial Federal Savings and Loan • Peter Kiewit Foundation • Stuhr Museum of the Prairie Pioneer • El Museo Latino • Nebraska Federation of Women’s Clubs • Beatrice Public Library • The Omaha World Herald •  Nebraska Educational Telecommunications.


Seward • Oakland • Chadron • Verdigre • Henderson • Aurora • David City • Central City • Cozad • Gering • Scottsbluff




NEH Head Says Humanities Funding Still A Question Mark

National Endowment for the Humanities Acting Chairman Jon Peede was in Omaha re