Sower Award in the Humanities

Humanities Nebraska presents its annual Sower Award in the Humanities at the Governor’s Lecture in the Humanities. Nominees are individuals, institutions, businesses or communities that have made a significant contribution to public understanding of the humanities in Nebraska. The 2015 Sower Award was  given at the benefit dinner/reception immediately prior to the 20th Annual Governor’s Lecture in the Humanities on October 1, 2015  at the Holland Center for Performing Arts in Omaha.

2015 Sower Award Honorees: Annette and Paul Smith



Previous Sower Award Recipients


Paul Olson • Joe Seger •  Keith Blackledge • Bernice Slote • Gene Bunge • Larry Wewel • Robert Audi • Walter Friedlander • Robert Manley • Frederick Luebke • Rhonda Seacrest • Jack McBride • Marion Marsh Brown • Morrie Tuttle • Nancy Duncan • State Sen. LaVon Crosby • Ron Hull • Jack Campbell • E.N. “Jack” Thompson •  Ron Naugle •  Don Welch • Gary Moulton • Ted Kooser • Charles “Chuck” Trimble • Richard Holland • Don Pederson • John Gottschalk • Judi gaiashkibos • Jane Renner Hood • Robert Nefsky


InterNorth Foundation •  Septemberfest Committee of Omaha • Holdrege Public Library • Woods Charitable Fund • Willa Cather Pioneer Memorial and Education Foundation • Cooper Foundation • Commercial Federal Savings and Loan • Peter Kiewit Foundation • Stuhr Museum of the Prairie Pioneer • El Museo Latino • Nebraska Federation of Women’s Clubs • Beatrice Public Library • The Omaha World Herald •  Nebraska Educational Telecommunications.


Seward • Oakland • Chadron • Verdigre • Henderson • Aurora • David City • Central City • Cozad • Gering • Scottsbluff




Humanities Nebraska adds five new board members

Humanities Nebraska (HN) recently elected five new members to its Council and Foun