Teachers/Schools Preparing for March 21 Capitol Forum Day

High school teachers from 26 schools across the state have been selected to participate in the 18th annual Nebraska Capitol Forum on America’s Future. These teachers will help their students discuss the nation’s future in an ever-changing political landscape.

Sponsored by HN in collab-oration with Secretary of State John Gale, Nebraska Capitol Forum is part of a multi-state initiative of Brown University’s “Choices for the 21st Century Education” program.

It is designed to help students become involved in the American democratic process and analyze issues facing our country. Students are able to participate in lively discussions with their peers from schools statewide, as well as Nebraska’s congress6ional delegation.

The participating teachers will meet Monday, February 1, 2016, in Lincoln to prepare an agenda and finalize plans for the event. A presentation will focus on one of the important global topics teachers are addressing with students this semester as part of their Capitol Forum curriculum.

Nebraska Capitol Forum Day is on March 21 at the State Capitol, welcoming student delegations from across the state for a day of deliberation and presentations.

2015-16 Capitol Forum Teachers

Arlington High School, Jason Wiese

Ashland-Greenwood High School, Brian Petermann

Auburn High School, Bryce Roth

Bellevue West High School, Brenna Dacey

Chadron High School, Joe McCarty

Crawford High School, Mary Gould-Traphagan

Creighton Prep High School, Kim Meyer

Duchesne Academy, Heidi Reinhart                                                                

Falls City High School, Lori Rech

Hampton High School, Patrick Alexander                                                

Hastings High School, Robert Kerr

Hemingford High School, Dave Chatelain

Holdrege High School, Chad Bailey

Howells-Dodge High School, Scott Polacek

Lincoln North Star High School, Jace Ahlberg

Louisville High School, Nicholas Bausch

Marian High School, Susie Sisson                                  

Nebraska Lutheran High School (Waco), Cori Humann
       & Miranda Maasz

Norfolk Senior High School, Katherine Steinkamp

North Platte High School, Jeremy Stevens

Platteview High School, Jon Comine

Stanton High School, Jacob Blum

Sterling High School, Arlo Wusk

West Holt High School, Chris Nemetz

Wilcox-Hildreth High School,  Ken Meyers   

York High School, Brenda Spencer-Nelson           



NEH Head Says Humanities Funding Still A Question Mark

National Endowment for the Humanities Acting Chairman Jon Peede was in Omaha re